On a Mission

Trying to find gluten free food that meets all the other requirements of my condition is like searching for a jewel in the ocean.  I’m allergic to soy.  Sensitive to sugar.  Have to watch fat and salt because of hypertension.  Some foods that are gluten free aren’t marked.  Others contain one or more of those risky ingredients.   I’ve spent the past three days online doing research on processed foods.  I know whole untouched foods are better for everyone, but I can’t meet all nutrient requirements with just fresh veggies and fruit.  Grains must be processed.  And fat.

Some things that are okay on a gluten free diet aren’t on a thyroid or Hashimoto’s diet.  Some foods are not good for thyroid patients, for instance the cruciferous ones–cabbage, brussel sprouts, cauliflower, broccoli.  Some of my favorites.  Some say that if cooked, they are less toxic.  Others say don’t eat them at all.

I’m tired, discouraged and confused.    I think I’ll hang it up for the rest of today.  Look forward to watching “The Voice” on TV tonight.  I hit my head on the open door of the microwave last night and got a huge bump on the top of my head.  It’s sore today, but not as bad as it would have been if I hadn’t immediately cooled it with an ice pack.  Anyway, I’ll give it a rest, and start in on my search again tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

